Copy
Share Share
Tweet Tweet
Forward Forward
Bear Pond Books header
Ponderings logo
77 Main St., Montpelier, VT 05602                                                                                October 1, 2020
 
Miranda says get ready for holiday shopping with our new tote bags!

Fall is always a busy time in the bookstore and luckily this year is no different! We are getting swamped with exciting new releases that we are eager to share with our customers. The reality of Covid 2020 is that it's going to be a challenging holiday shopping season, supply-wise. We strongly suggest planning your Holiday shopping early this year and staying up to date with us through Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. The good news is Montpelier Madness (aka Moonlight Madness) is three days long this year and includes online sales! Take advantage of it to kick-off your holiday shopping because during Covid times, October is the new December! 

New Releases

Ten Lessons
Ten Lessons for a Post-Pandemic World
by Fareed Zakaria
Learn More
The Purpose of Power 
by Alicia Garza
Learn More

Modern Comfort Food
by Ina Garten
Learn More

The Orphan's Guilt
by Archer Mayor
Learn More
Rise Up 
by Al Sharpton
Learn More
Ottolenghi Flavor
by Yotam Ottolenghi &
Ixta Belfrage
Learn More

The Searcher
by Tana French
Learn More
Whale Day
by Billy Collins
Learn More

Is This Anything?
by Jerry Seinfeld
Learn More

September Bestsellers

Click here for the list of store bestsellers. Our very own Samantha Kolber has made the list with her debut poetry chapbook!
(Adult books pictured left, children's books pictured right.)
September Bestsellers

Staff Picks

Jane's AUDIOBOOK Staff Pick

Everything Sad Is Untrue by Daniel Nayeri: Listener, you are about to enter a world of rose water and saffron, of sheep's blood and mad bulls, of myth and magic carpets, a world of Scheherazade's making, a thousand and one stories that each bend and weave and buoy the next. As a child who had to flee his beloved home and family in Iran, Daniel's warm narration invites us to sit and stay a while, and not only see the world through his bright, vulnerable, hopeful young eyes, but to taste, smell and hear how the past infuses the present, and why storytelling isn't as much about telling the truth as much as it is about heroes and human fallibility. 

Tyler's Staff Pick

The incredible poet, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, turns her hand to prose in the beautifully illustrated book of short essays, World of Wonders, where she weaves together personal memoir and nature writing. Nezhukumatathil is the daughter of a Filipina mother and Indian father, both gardeners and outdoor enthusiasts, and she writes about being one of the only families of color on all of her childhood hikes in Ohio and northern New York. But her love of nature was deeply instilled and has greatly influenced her writing and the kinship she finds with the unusual and odd creatures of our planet. This book is filled with life and upliftment, and balances critique of the racism embedded in our culture with her passion for the wonders of the natural world. For lovers of Robin Wall Kimmerer, Mary Oliver, and Ross Gay, you will lose yourself in this swirl of magic.

Spontaneous

Sam's Staff Pick


I read Spontaneous by Vermont author Aaron Starmer in one day! And laughed out loud numerous times. Starmer does a fabulous job with the details of the character--a teen living in the New Jersey suburbs--and the dialogue and steamy makeout scenes, which are very realistic. When it ended, I had more questions than when I began, but living with unknowability might just be the point the author was trying to make. Spontaneous is a hilarious novel of magical realism, adolescence, and the unknown--and blood and guts and spontaneous combustion. Read it then watch the movie, which releases October 6th!
Charming as a Verb

Cora's Staff Pick


Charming as a Verb by Ben Philippe 
Henri Haltiwanger is a confident, organized, and (yes) charming young man. He can charm the clients of his dog-walking business and the teachers at his elite prep school, where he is a well-liked, solid student. He can smooth his own path through life with the right smile and a lot of hustle. So, what happens when he’s afraid his charm won’t get him what he really wants: a place at Columbia University - his Haitian immigrant father’s fondest dream; and a chance at a real relationship with Corinne Troy, the fierce and honest girl who can see right through him? I loved this joyful, clever and nuanced book, which will appeal to fans of David Yoon and Jenny Han.

Events

October 9, 2020, 7:00pm: Join Samantha Kolber for a poetry reading from her debut Birth of a Daughter (Kelsay Books). "Kolber's voice is an important one, honoring what is often kept hidden," says Kerrin McCadden, author of Keep This to Yourself. Please RSVP here.

October 15-17, 2020: Join us for three days of Montpelier Madness, October 15th-17th! Downtown's annual sale event, Moonlight Madness, will be celebrated for three days this year (hence the name upgrade). Bear Pond will be offering 20% off all new books, gifts, games, puzzles & stationery in store AND online. If you prefer to shop from home, you can order at bearpondbooks.com and choose to have your order shipped, picked up at the back door, or picked up in the store. This is our only sale event of the season - get a start on your holiday shopping because 2020 is all about shopping early and shopping locally! 

Virtual Book Clubs

October 19, 2020, 5:30pm
Mosaic Fall Bookclub Series

Know My Name: A Memoir by Channel Miller

A bookclub series hosted by Mosaic Vermont exploring the themes and artistry of a powerful memoir by survivor Channel Miller.

Details: 3 sessions every other Monday starting October 19th, on the Statehouse Lawn, and the following dates November 2nd and 16th from 5:30-6:30pm on Zoom. Learn more and RSVP here.

October 19th, 2020, 7:00pm
SciFi+ Book Club Zoom Meeting

A Memory Called Empire

We are now virtual! Book selections are available to purchase in the store (for 15% off) and on our website.

Please RSVP here if you plan to join the Zoom meeting. You must RSVP to get the login link for the virtual meeting.

Twitter
Facebook
Website
Instagram
Copyright © 2020 Bear Pond Books, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp