Hope Border Institute joins the Interfaith Alliance of El Paso & Southern New Mexico in remembering the victims of the recent tragedy in Orlando.

The tragic events in Orlando inspire fear, anxiety, anger and questioning in communities across the country and in our borderlands. 

But in the candlelight vigil in San Jacinto Plaza, and in anguished prayers voiced in places of worship throughout El Paso and Southern New Mexico, we have seen the power of solidarity to overcome even the darkest and most confused acts of hatred. 

Solidarity speaks words of life, unity and peace in the face of terror and refuses to give way to feelings of revenge, animosity and bigotry. We reject the twisted logic that would divide our communities on account of race, national origin, religion or sexual identity. 

We stand in solidarity with all those overcome by pain and grief in Orlando, and we – representatives of El Paso’s and Southern New Mexico’s many faith traditions – pledge our commitment to build bridges of understanding and peace among all.

  • Rev. Deborah Clugy-Soto, Pastor, Revolution United Church of Christ, El Paso
  • Brian Mooney, Chair, El Paso/Southern New Mexico InterFaith Alliance
  • Msgr. Arturo J. Bañuelas, Pastor, St. Mark Catholic Church, El Paso
  • Dr. Nosrat Heidarian, Bahá’í Faith Community, El Paso
  • Sabri Agachan, Director, Dialogue Institute of the Southwest
  • Gerard Baca, Sathya Sai Baba Center of El Paso
  • Ayse Aktar Bakir, Assistant Director, Raindrop Turkish House, El Paso-Las Cruces
  • Norma Bustillos, President, Sathya Sai Baba Center of El Paso
  • Bobby Kankin Byrd, Leader, Both Sides/No Sides Zen Community, El Paso
  • Rev. Carlos Clugy-Soto, Chaplain, CIMA Hospice, El Paso
  • Dylan Corbett, Executive Director, Hope Border Institute
  • Rev. Cemelli deAztlán, First Nations Ministry, Kalpulli Tlateca, El Paso
  • Pat Delgado, Pax Christi El Paso
  • Jennifer Fox, Director of Spiritual Direction, Grace Presbyterian Church, El Paso
  • Diana Do-Shin Johnson, Both Sides/No Sides Zen Community, Las Cruces
  • Rev. Peter Kapenga, Retired Educator, Peace Lutheran Church, El Paso
  • Rabbi Stephen Leon, Congregation B'nai Zion, El Paso
  • Rev. Neal Locke, First Presbyterian Church, El Paso
  • Katrina Martich, Lutheran Deaconess Association, El Paso
  • Rev. José A. Morales, Pastor, Holy Spirit Parish, El Paso
  • Rev. David Morrison, Desert Rain Community, Chaparral
  • Fr. Bill Morton, Columban Fathers, El Paso
  • Rev. Robert Mosher, Director, Columban Mission Center, El Paso
  • Rev. Dennis O’Mara, Columban Mission Center, El Paso
  • Rev. Jayne L. Ruiz, Presbyterian Pastor, El Paso
  • Jim Tolbert, El Paso City Council Representative, Religious Society of Friends
  • Rev. Stephen White, Pastor, Faith United Methodist Church, El Paso
  • Rabbi Ben Zeidman, Temple Mount Sinai, El Paso
View this email in your browser
Copyright © 2016 Hope Border Institute, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp