View this email in your browser

Welcome from
John Kennerly,
2015-16 PASCAL
Board Chair

     The 20th-century American psychologist, Rollo May, wrote that “communication leads to community.” PASCAL, as an academic library community, profits exponentially from efforts at communication inwardly within the membership and outwardly to those who stand to benefit from the organization. As many of you know, we are currently working on a PASCAL strategic planning initiative, and “communication” is emerging as a key strategy in that process. To that end, new and seasoned PASCAL staff have been ramping up efforts to improve lines of communication. Enter… the PASCAL newsletter, our latest tool for increasing communication within the organization. Special thanks go to PASCAL staff for spearheading the development and distribution of this new communication channel. And to you, member librarians engaged in the work of PASCAL, thank you for your stalwart volunteer efforts! Hopefully you will have the opportunity to contribute to future PASCAL newsletters and share your accomplishments and news with the rest of PASCAL.

     With that, let me encourage you to take a quick break from what I know are busy schedules to spend a little time with this newsletter. Whether you have a long-standing affiliation with PASCAL or are new to the organization, I hope you find this newsletter enjoyable and informative. Read on, and let’s watch community grow!

A Note from Executive Director, Rick Moul

   As John notes, “communication leads to community.”  This newsletter is the product of a renewed commitment to communication by the PASCAL team, and is put together by Ellan Jenkinson, our new Member Engagement and Training Librarian. As we refine our strategic agenda, build a stronger common collection and explore our options for modernization of the systems that enable us to better serve our end users, working as a community is key. We are excited by our prospects and hope that you are too.

PASCAL Institutional Survey Launched

   Earlier this year, the Infrastructure Review Task Force (IRTF), was set up to review core library infrastructures used by PASCAL member libraries and the consortium. Additionally, they are charged with identifying alternatives that might be pursued by members and the consortium. The task force will complete the review and report on their findings in October. We anticipate that their report will be an important resource for the entire membership. Indeed, it will be a foundation for the discussion we hope to have at the 2nd annual town-hall meeting to be held October 15th.

   This week the task force distributed an institutional survey to all member libraries. Each library is asked to complete one survey and members are encouraged to fill it out thoroughly and thoughtfully. Information gathered through the survey will be essential in shaping the task force report which will, in turn, guide discussion within the consortium on the future of resource sharing in the state. We look forward to engaging in this statewide conversation.

   The Infrastructure Review Task Force is co-chaired by James Williams, Assistant Dean, College of Charleston Libraries and Scott Phinney, Head of Cataloging, University of South Carolina. Questions regarding the survey may be directed to them. For more information on the task force, please visit the IRTF page on the PASCAL member site.

Members Recognized at General Meeting

   On June 11th, the General Membership Meeting was held at the SC Department of Archives and History, bringing together members from around the state. During the meeting several member librarians were recognized for their service. We are grateful to the following librarians for their contributions over the past year:

Barbara Burd
Chair, Board of Directors

Caroline Mills
Chair, E-Book Task Force

Tucky Taylor
Chair, Universal Borrowing Committee

Randall Watts
Chair, Consortial Purchasing Committee

Gloria Zinky
Chair, Catalog Design Committee

   For additional information on the General Meeting, including materials and presentations, please visit the PASCAL member site.

Committee & Task Force Volunteers

   Much of the important work of our consortium is accomplished through PASCAL’s various committees and task forces. PASCAL currently has four standing committees: Catalog Design, Common Collection, Consortial Purchasing and Universal Borrowing, and two active task forces: Infrastructure Review and E-Books. We are grateful to the many talented member librarians who serve on these committees, volunteering their time and expertise to advance our consortium and South Carolina’s higher education community.

   Committee appointments for the 2015-2016 year are being finalized and several librarians are rolling off committees on which they’ve served. Please join us in congratulating and thanking them for their service.

Catalog Design Committee:
Laura Barfield, Trident Technical College
Spiro Shetuni, Winthrop University

Consortial Purchasing Committee:
Chris Ryan, (Past Chair), Clemson University
Rachel Zitzman, Midlands Technical College

Universal Borrowing Committee:
Teri Alexander, Clemson University
Betsy Elsner, Erskine College
Karen Rodman, Midlands Technical College

   New appointments and full rosters for 2015-16 will be announced soon. You can follow the activities of all PASCAL groups on the member site. Look for the ‘Groups’ tab to find full rosters, charges, meeting agendas, materials and more.

July 23
Board of Directors Meeting

October 15
Town Hall Meeting

October 16
Board Retreat 

October 21-23
SCLA Conference

December 3
General Membership Meeting

PASCAL Catalog
PASCAL is the Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries, a consortium of South Carolina's academic libraries together with their parent institutions and state agency partners. PASCAL fosters cooperation on a broad range of issues including shared licensing of electronic resources, universal borrowing, and ILS hosting.
Executive Committee

John Kennerly, Chair
Erskine College

Chair-Elect, TBD

Barbara Burd, Past Chair
Coastal Carolina University

Dave Chatham, Treasurer
Presbyterian College

Adrienne Webber, Secretary
South Carolina State University

Board Members

Alexa Bartel
Coker College

Kulcey Cassidy
Northeastern Technical College

Denise Robinson
Central Carolina Technical College

Christine Ryan
Clemson University

Stephanie Solomon
Columbia International University

James Williams
College of Charleston

Subscription thru 11/30/2016
Titles Available: 153,162
EBSCO Academic Collection
Subscription thru 6/30/2017
Titles Available: 142,846
DDA plan thru 6/30/16
Titles Available: 5676
UPSO Psychology/Oxford
Perpetual access
Titles Available: 335



Copyright © 2015 PASCAL, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences