Copy
The Center for Public Service and Scholarship

Thank you for signing up.


Spring isn't here quite yet, but we're always ready to get students up and moving in the community! 
The Center for Public Service and Scholarship is happy to connect you to service projects on and off campus this fall. Included in this email is just a sample of projects you can be involved in, as well as contact information for these organizations.
 
International Women's Day
~ March 8 ~

International Women's Day is a celebration and educational event celebrated in the UN and across many countries. IWD seeks to (among many things) celebrate, empower, and educate about gender disparities worldwide. 
How can you participate?
1. Educate yourself and others, or take a pledge for parity at: 
http://www.internationalwomensday.com/.
2. Choose to become a volunteer at a Women's Resource Center such as the Laurel Center. Learn more here:  http://www.thelaurelcenter.org/make-a-difference/volunteer-opportunities.
3. Visit the Not Just Women's Center on campus or contact Katie Moss at kmoss14@su.edu.
4. Create an account with Kiva and invest in micro-loans that empower women in developing countries here: https://www.kiva.org/her.



World Kidney Day
~ March 10 ~
 
World Kidney Day aims to raise awareness for the importance of kidneys to our overall health and to reduce the frequency and impact of kidney disease and its associated health problems worldwide. Awareness about preventive behaviors, risk factor awareness, and awareness about how to live with a kidney disease.
The event will take place 2:00 - 8:00 at the conference center in Winchester Medical Center. Want  to volunteer? Valley Health would love to have your help.  Please contact Amanda Sheetz at asheetz@valleyhealthlink.com or call
540-664-2973.

Froggy's Closet
Sock and Underwear Donation

Now through Tuesday, April 5, the Student Nurses Association is hosting the Froggy’s Closet Collection, which aims to collect lots of children’s socks and underwear – in original packaging – for Froggy’s Closet, a nonprofit organization that helps Winchester-area children who are victims of abuse or neglect or who are at-risk.

Collection boxes are located in the Health & Life Sciences Building and the Brandt Student Center. Questions? Contact student Summer Spiva at sspiva13@su.edu.

Boys and Girls Club 

The Boys and Girls Club of the Northern Shenandoah Valley is looking for committed volunteers to be mentors for elementary and middle school students after school. If you would like to learn more, you can go to http://www.bgcnsv.com/ 
or contact Bridgett Peterson at bpeterson@bgcnsv.org.
Why be a Mentor?
Why be a mentor?
Campus Garden

The Shenandoah Salvage Company and the Environmental Studies Program are looking for volunteers to help plant and tend a new garden starting this spring. 

If you're interested, contact Alice Morgan at amorgan@su.edu 
UVote

UVote is an on-campus organization dedicated to helping students register to vote and spreading the word about the importance of exercising your right. 

UVote is currently looking for volunteers to help with voter registration in the future. If you are interested in helping, contact Cody Wiley at cwiley11@su.edu.

The Center for Public Service and Scholarship
Shenandoah University, Gregory Hall 120 
1460 University Drive, Winchester, VA 22601
(540) 665-4696
Facebook
Website
Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can 
update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list