Copy
View this email in your browser
CWISL News 
April-June 2016

Children's Writers and Illustrators of South London (CWISL) is a group of published writers and illustrators. Read on to find out about us and our events.
Share
Tweet
Forward
National Libraries Day
Above: Bridget Marzo and Sarah Mussi at Minet Library.

CWISL authors and illustrators, Chitra Soundar, Jackie Marchant, Lydia Syson, Bridget Marzo, Sarah Mussi, Margaret Bateson-Hill, Elli Woollard, Anne-Marie Perks and Sam Hepburn visited Minet and Durning Libraries, Lambeth to help them celebrate National Libraries Day - 6th February. They ran a series of workshops - storytelling, writing, book making and held an author panel. CWISL especially wanted to support Lambeth Libraries which are facing further closures and cuts to the service. 
by Margaret Bateson-Hill
CILIP SLG's  Cafe Litteraire
Above: Barbara Ferramosca gave a warm welcoming speech.

The SLG's Cafe Litteraire tea party is a totally brilliant idea - a unique opportunity for school librarians and authors to meet each other and chat informally over tea. Their second one was held on the damp afternoon of 23rd January in Kentish Town, in a large, light room upstairs at the attractive Grafton pub, who laid on tea and coffee and vast slices of delicious cake. Authors' books and publicity material were laid out on tables for close inspection by the librarians and we were all given name badges, clearly marked 'Author' or 'Librarian', so there could be no confusion!
     After a terrific welcome from Barbara Ferramosca, the authors and librarians mingled. Topics of conversation included questions about the choosing of books, the most popular genres with girls/boys, the usefulness (or not!) of publishers' promotion material, the age-old problem of encouraging boys to read. Several authors had the many and confusing library groups patiently explained by a cycling and WW1 expert and reviewer for their excellent magazine, the School Librarian.
     Among the CWISL authors who went were Margaret Bateson-Hill, Amanda Lillywhite, Bridget Marzo and Jo Franklin. Thank you to all the wonderful librarians who organised this – we'll all hope for a repeat in due course!  
by Patricia Elliott 
World Book Day
CWISL author Sophie Plowden joined the junior boys of Queen Elisabeth Hospital School in Bristol for a World Book Day extravaganza of art and creative writing workshops.
 
An awful lot of Wallys
Accompanied by assorted members of their families, CWISL authors Sophia Bennett, Mo O'Hara and Lydia Syson donned stripy tops, bobble hats and black glasses on March 20th to support the National Literacy Trust's annual Where's Wally? fun run, this year on Clapham Common. By far the toughest part of the day was the long cold queue to be registered, but the team put in fine performances, both on the racetrack and online at Justgiving, and have so far raised over £1300 for the NLT! It's not too late to donate. Chitra Soundar rallied the CWISL troops but sadly missed the race due to a training injury.
 
The new issue of CWISL's online magazine for children is now live. All submissions of writing and artwork by children aged 16 and under for the next issue are welcome via the website www.shoutaboutmagazine.com
CWISL
EVENTS IN 2016 
 
June 4
Bethlem Museum of the Mind, Bridget Marzo's free creative painting workshop for families inspired by the Little Traveller on show at Youtopia. 
Information: bit.ly/1pHjHye

Check CWISL member websites (see links at the foot of this email) or the CWISL website 
www.cwisl.org.uk for more information about us and our other events.
New Books!
Chasing Danger by Sara Grant
Details: 
bit.ly/1LEVEth
Love Song by Sophia Bennett
Details: bit.ly/1pyVmK0
Les Contes à Colorier by Bridget Marzo
Details: 
bit.ly/1UN2dvk
Frankenstein by 
Beverley Birch
(Illustrated by Rohan Eason)
Details: 
bit.ly/21Hsb3M
Turtle's Party In The Clouds by Beverley Birch
(Illustrated by Christine Jenny)
Details: 
bit.ly/1U9BwCr
News Roundup
Patricia Elliott's new Connie Carew Mystery: The Ship of Spectres will be
published in November 2016.

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––
That Burning Summer by Lydia Syson will be published in the US in January 2017 with a new cover.

 
CWISL MEMBERS
Nicholas Allan
Margaret Bateson-Hill www.margaretbateson-hill.co.uk
Sophia Bennett www.sophiabennett.com
Beverley Birch
Jamie Buxton/J.P. Buxton
Helen Dennis
Patricia Elliott www.patriciaelliott.co.uk
Jo Franklin www.jofranklinauthor.co.uk
Sara Grant  www.sara-grant.com
Cath Howe www.cathhowe.com
Amanda Lillywhite www.crazypanda.com
Jackie Marchant www.jackiemarchant.com
Bridget Marzo www.bridgetmarzo.com
Sarah Mussi www.sarahmussi.com
Mo O’Hara www.moohara.co.uk
Samira Osman/Hepburn www.samhepburnbooks.com
Karen Owen www.karenowen.co.uk
Anne-Marie Perks www.annemarieperks.com
Sophie Plowden www.sophieplowden.co.uk
Cate Sampson
Loretta Schauer www.lorettaschauer.com
Chitra Soundar www.chitrasoundar.com
Amanda Swift amandaswiftauthor.blogspot.co.uk
Lydia Syson www.lydiasyson.com
Andrew Weale
Alex Wheatle
Peggy Woodford www.peggywoodford.com
Elli Woollard


CWISL FRIENDS
Judy Allen
Sam Hawksmoor
Gillian Cross
S. I. Martin
Paul Bryers
@CWISL
@CWISL
CWISL Website
CWISL Website
Copyright © 2015 CWISL or its members, All rights reserved.

CWISL email address: cwislenquiries@hotmail.com 

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
CWISL · South London · Spa Road · London, Lnd SE16 3SG · United Kingdom

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp