Volume 22, Issue 5 - August 2022

Congratulations to the 2022 Cohort on completing ATC summer institute and starting Year 1!

Anna Bivens
Art, Forrest City

Brandon Bolden
PE/Health, Lakeside (Chicot Co)

Destyni Branch
ELA, Dumas

Alexis Brooks
Elementary, Forrest City

Tironeka Brown
Business, Dermott

Deja Burton
ELA, Pine Bluff

Jamal Burton
ELA, Pine Bluff

Candace Carroll
Elementary, Pine Bluff

Brendan Davis
Science, Pine Bluff

Vida May de Juan
ELA, Forrest City

Donna Edmond
Social Studies, Helena-West Helena

Tavorres Eskew
ELA, Pine Bluff

Torres Eskew
ELA, Pine Bluff

Mitch Fryer
Math, Osceola

Montae Green
Social Studies, Pine Bluff

Devin Guillory
Science, Pine Bluff

LaDonna Hall
Social Studies, Pine Bluff
DeAndre Holmes
Elementary, Earle

Marquita Holmes
Art, Forrest City

Helen Jenkins
ELA, Blytheville

Candace Johnson
ELA, Pine Bluff

Destiny Lee
ELA, Marked Tree

Amber Love
ELA, Pine Bluff

Brett Matchett
Science, Hope

Lamesha Mitchell
Elementary, North Little Rock

Wallace Montgomery III
Music, Forrest City

Tammie Shaw
Business, Lakeside (Chicot Co)

Aria Smith
Elementary, Forrest City

Gladys Villamor
ELA, Forrest City

Greta Warren
Business, Blytheville

Jeannette Williams
Science, West Memphis

Shanequa Williams
Elementary, Helena

Keochi Wright-Hopkins
Elementary, West Memphis

Sharice Yates
ELA, Osceola

ATC Receives $205,800 Grant For Fellow Support

Arkansas Teacher Corps was awarded a grant totaling $205,800 by the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) in August 2022. Grant funds will provide additional supports for fellows in the areas of teacher licensure, wraparound support, and educator wellness for the 2022-23 school year. A partnership with Edwell will provide personalized wellness coaching for all ATC fellows and staff members, in addition to a year-long professional development course for a small group of fellows and staff to learn more about teaching that is trauma-informed, brain-based, and healing-centered.
Read More

ATC Fellows Selected for Education Policy Program

Congratulations to fellow LeAndra Grant (ATC '20) and alumnus Arthur Willis (ATC '18) on being selected for the 2022-23 Teach Plus Arkansas Policy Fellowship! We're so proud of their work on behalf of all students in Arkansas. Over the next year, they will engage in monthly trainings to develop their policy, advocacy, research, and communications skills in order to advocate for systemic changes for Arkansas’s students.
Read More

Application for 2023 Fellowship Opens Sept 1

Arkansas Teacher Corps will begin accepting applications for the 2023 Cohort on September 1. Applicants will be considered for admission after each of three deadlines: November 1, January 1, and March 1. Successful applicants will begin training in summer 2023. Interested individuals must submit an application online through our new portal that will now allow applicants to save their progress and request up to 3 official recommendations.
Apply Here
Recommend Someone

Follow Us on Social Media for Self-Care September

Hear from Kendra
Hear from John


Kayla Bryant-Robertson

Kayla was recently hired as a new Teacher Development Manager for ATC. She coaches and supports teachers through classroom observations and debriefs, in addition to facilitating professional development. A native of southeast Arkansas, she attended McGehee High School and graduated from Arkansas State University in Jonesboro, AR in 2014 with a B.A. in English and a minor in Biology. She joined ATC in 2015 and returned home to teach 6th grade English at McGehee Elementary followed by 8th grade English at Conner Middle School. Since then, Kayla has served in a variety of leadership roles including ATC Summer Mentor, English department chair, handbook committee member, and McGehee High School dance coach. After competing as a Dancing Owlette herself in high school, Kayla returned to coach the team to a first-place win at the AAA State Dance Championship in 2018 after capturing bronze in 2016 and silver in 2017; they have continued to place and win awards in the following years including a second AAA State Champion runners-up trophy in 2020. She was named her school’s Teacher of the Year by the McGehee Chamber of Commerce in 2018 and nominated for Spirit Coach of the Year in 2019. Kayla earned her M.Ed. in Educational Leadership from Arkansas State University in 2022. As a full-time teacher coach, she is excited to leverage her leadership and classroom experience in supporting teaching fellows as they continue to learn and grow professionally.

Highlights from Summer Institute 2022

Upcoming Events & Important Dates

Aug 29-Sept 1  --  Fellow Monthly Workshops (Aug)
Sept 17  --  Fellow All Corps PD #1
Sept 26-29  --  Fellow Monthly Workshops (Sept)
Oct 24-27  --  Fellow Monthly Workshops (Oct)
Nov 1  --  First Application Deadline
Nov 12  --  Fellow All Corps PD #2
Nov 1-30  --  Fall Fellow TESS Evaluation Window
Dec 5-8  --  Fellow Monthly Workshops (Dec)

Jan 1  --  Second Application Deadline
Jan 23-26  --  Fellow Monthly Workshops (Jan)
Feb 11  --  Fellow All Corps PD #3
Feb 20-23  --  Fellow Monthly Workshops (Feb)
Mar 1  --  Third Application Deadline
Mar 27-Apr 28  --  Spring Fellow TESS Evaluation Window
April 3-7  --  Fellow Monthly Workshops (April)
April 15  --  Fellow All Corps PD #4
May 1-5  --  Fellow Monthly Workshops (May)
May 20  --  End-of-Year Celebration 

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Arkansas Teacher Corps · 216 Graduate Education Building · Fayetteville, AR 72701 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp