Leadership Birmingham November 2016 E-News
View this email in your browser
Conversation with Alabama Mayors

Leadership Birmingham and the Leadership Alabama Birmingham Regional Council members gathered at the Forum Theater for a Conversation with Mayors on Monday, September 12.  The panel discussion included Tuscaloosa's Walt Maddox, Mobile's Sandy Stimpson, Montgomery's Todd Strange and Birmingham's William A. Bell, Sr.  These four mayors, along with Huntsville's Tommy Battle, represent the five most populous cities in the state and meet periodically to exchange ideas on how to improve and resolve issues in their cities. This meeting in Birmingham was focused on police and community relations. 

Class of 2017 begins program year
The Class of 2017 had their first program day on Thursday, October 13. Education Day was spent at Woodlawn and Carver High Schools in the Birmingham City School System. The class had lunch in the pavilion of Woodlawn High School's new Jones Valley Teaching Farm and participated in an exercise with students at Carver High School facilitated by the Birmingham Education Foundation. They heard from educators, superintendents, school board members and community partners on a variety of topics. Click here to sign in and see the full agenda.

Leadership Birmingham Members Program

Is There a Future for Local Journalism?


Pulitzer Prize Winning Journalists:  
Brett Blackledge

Government and Investigations Editor, The Naples Daily News
Brant Houston 
Chair of Investigative Reporting, Department of Jounalism, University of Illinois
Board Chair Emeritus, Institute for Nonprofit News

Thursday, December 8, 2016 
11:30 a.m.

Invitiations to follow
The upcoming 2016 election has 14 statewide amendments for Alabamians to vote on. Below is a link to the Alabama Voter Guide description of the amendments and what they do. The PARCA analysis of the amendments is also included. 

Elizabeth Barbaree-Tasker ('13), Rosilyn Houston ('14), Lauren Perlman Schwartz ('15), and current class member Natalie Kelly were honorees of the the Women's Fund of Greater Birmingham's Annual SMART Party. 

Alice Bowsher ('95) was honored by Main Street Alabama as the inaugural recipient for the Alice M. Bowsher Award for innovation, implementation and inspiration.

Lajuana Bradford ('08), John Hudson ('05) and David Silverstein ('00) were named to the Red Mountain Theatre Company board of directors. 

Bettina Byrd-Giles ('15) has been selected to participate in the Culture of Health Leaders program. This program brings together leaders from across the country to address issues in health and equity including food systems, racial stress and immigrant trauma.

Tom Cosby ('90) received the Vulcan game changer award and Odessa Woolfolk ('84) received the lifetime achievement award at Vulcan Park & Museum's annual Community Awards. Jarralynne Agee, current class member, also received the Game Changer Spear award. 

Mason Davis ('85), Bill Smith, Jr. ('85), and Mike Warren ('86) were inducted into the Birmingham Business Hall of Fame. 

Trey Echols ('16) is president of the new Alumni Board at Birmingham Southern College.

Chris Gargala ('15) has been named to the board of directors of the Birmingham Education Foundation & Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Birmingham.

Fran Godchaux ('03) is the president of the board for Collat Jewish Family Services. 

Eric Jack ('14) has been named to the board of the Birmingham Committee on Foreign Relations.

Hezekiah Jackson ('00) and Marco Morosini ('14) received  Commitment to Excellence awards at the City of Birmingham's Community Policing Revitalization Banquet. 

Tondra Loder-Jackson ('07) wrote a book titled "Schoolhouse Activists: African American Educators and the Long Birmingham Civil Rights Movement." The book explores the role that African-American educators played in the Birmingham civil rights movement from the late 19th century to the present day. It is available at,, Barnes & Noble and Books-A-Million. 

Carolyn McKinstry ('02) received the Humanitarian of the Year award from Samford University. 

Deborah Walker ('91) was selected to co-chair Read Charlotte's Schoolhouse Working Group. The Read Charlotte Initiative is a collaborative, community-wide movement aimed at increasing the reading level of 3rd grade students.

The following members are in the Leadership Alabama Class of 2016 - 2017: 
Barbara Burton ('16), Trey Clegg ('08), Mike Kemp ('12), Stan Law ('14), Chris Nanni ('15), Lindsay Sinor ('14), Virginia Patterson ('13), and Donna Smith ('02).  
          ON THE MOVE           

Joyce Heames ('01)
is the Dean of the Campbell School of Management at Berry College in Rome, Georgia.
Sandra Koplon ('92) retired from the Alabama Head Injury Foundation.

Cindy Martin ('06) is the founder of a new media company, Bham Now. Bham Now is focused on jobs, revitalization, nature and entertainment. Bham Now also hosts ‘the BOLD’ speaker series, featuring people who are moving Birmingham forward in significant ways.

David Nabors ('15) is the regional market executive for the Birmingham metropolitan area at PrimeSouth Bank. 

Tim Parker ('06) is senior vice president of SunTrust Private Wealth Management in Nashville, Tennessee. 

Carranza Pryor ('02) is Of Counsel for Greenberg Traurig LLP in Atlanta, Georgia. 

Andrea Smith ('12) is the new Birmingham Market CEO for BBVA Compass. 

Penny Southward ('94) has been named executive director of FOCUS on Recovery. 

Phyllis Wyne ('04) retired as executive director frpm FOCUS on Recovery. 
2016 - 2017
Leadership Birmingham
Program Schedule 

Thursday, October 13, 2016
Education Day

Thursday, November 10, 2016 
Healthy Community Day

Thursday, December 8, 2016  
Government Day 

Thursday, January 12, 2017
Justice Day

Thursday, February 9, 2017
One Community Day

Thursday, March 9, 2017
Human Services Day

Thursday, April 13, 2017  
Economic Development Day

Thursday, May 11, 2017
Quality of Life Day
Copyright © 2016 Leadership Birmingham, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp