June 15, 2020

France Córdova is a PMA Alum, former Director of the National Science Foundation, and sponsor of the France Córdova Graduate Student Fund.

The recipients of the France Cordova Graduate Student Funds, awarded for excellence in graduate studies for those studying in the areas of their named scholar, are:

Garmire Scholar – Kevin Burdge
Garmire Scholar – Yanjun Xu
Tombrello Scholar – Ivaylo Madjarov

Please join us in congratulating this year’s awards and prize recipients!

Math Graduate Awards
  • Tom Apostol Teaching Award – Jane Panagaden, Konrad Pilch, Forte Shinko, and Victor Zhang
    • Awarded to student(s) to recognize their excellence in teaching
  • Scott Russell Johnson Awards
    • First Year Graduate Studies Award – Jiaxin Zhang
      • Awarded for excellence as a first-year graduate student
    • Graduate Studies Prize – Tamir Hemo, Sunghyuk Park and Lingfei Yi
      • Awarded for extraordinary progress in research and excellence in teaching
    • Graduate Dissertation Prize – Cosmin Pohoata and Pooya Vahidi Ferdowsi
      • Awarded for the best graduate dissertation in mathematics
Physics Graduate Awards
Math Undergraduate Awards
Physics Undergraduate Awards
  • C.S. Shastry Prize – Adrian Lopez
    • Awarded to a second-year Physics 11 student with a passion for the subject and research, and has a demonstrated ability to contribute to the field of physics
  • D.S Kothari Prize – Harald Putterman
    • Awarded to the graduating fourth-year in physics who has produced an outstanding research project
  • Haren Lee Fisher Memorial Award – Alexander Zlokapa
    • Awarded to a student majoring in physics who has completed their second year and demonstrates great promise for future contributions to the field
  • Margie Lauritsen Leighton Prize – Yuchen Tang
    • Awarded to a female-identified student, and has completed their second year and are majoring in Physics or Astrophysics
  • Richard Feynman Prize – Daniel Mark
    • Awarded to an undergraduate fourth-year who has demonstrated excellence in theoretical physics
  • Richard G. Brewer Prize – Jin Ming Koh
    • Awarded to a first-year student who provides the most creative and interesting solutions to the Physics 11 hurdles
  • Robert F. Christy Senior Prize – Xiaoling Liu
    • Awarded to a fourth-year who has demonstrated excellence in physics
Jim Fuller, Caltech assistant professor of theoretical astrophysics, co-authored a paper describing the discovery in the new issue of Nature Astronomy. 
(learn more)

The STScI is seeking input from potential users of Roman Space Telescope data. Please take a few moments to complete a survery to help frame the size, scope, and scientific breadth of the Core Community Surveys and the GO observations. (learn more)

We're preparing to launch the Perseverance rover to Mars, but what's involved in getting the Mars 2020 rover mission ready to head to Mars, and how do we prepare for operations once we're there? Watch this month's Von Karman Lecture live on Youtube to find out!
(learn more)

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Caltech · 1200 E California Blvd · Pasadena, CA 91125 · USA