Copy
View this email in your browser
1. Daniel G. Cedarbaum z"l: Role Model of Kaplanian Lay Leadership

Join us Sunday, June 26 at 3:00pm (2:00 pm Central, 12:00 Pacific) on Zoom.

A program with Rabbi Arnie Rachlis (University Synagogue), Rabbi Helen Plotkin (Mekom Torah), Dr. Sam Fleischacker, and Caryn Jacobs

Close to one year has passed since Dan Cedarbaum’s untimely passing. To mark this moment, we have asked some of Dan’s friends, colleagues, and family members to reflect upon his approach to Jewish lay leadership. During this webinar, we will also announce the winners of the inaugural Dan Cedarbaum Prize in Jewish Education and introduce three new Kaplan Center board members whose talents will help us continue the work that Dan initiated with the founding of the Center in 2010. 

To register for this webinar, click here
 
 

2. The SAJ as a Civilization: From Radical Vision to Community-Based Innovation


A conference honoring the 100th anniversary of SAJ by exploring the history and influence of the SAJ congregation.

Sunday June 12th starting at 1:00 pm (12:00 pm Central, 10:00 am Pacific). In person and on Zoom.

The conference will begin with a keynote lecture given by Mel Scult—preeminent scholar of the life and thought of Mordecai M. Kaplan and Vice President of the Kaplan Center—on Rabbi Kaplan’s vision for the SAJ at its founding. Mel’s talk will be followed by three panels in which leading scholars, Jewish communal leaders, and congregational stakeholders will discuss the historical and spatial context of SAJ; the make-up of SAJ's innovative 'organic' community; and the relationship of SAJ to Reconstructionist Judaism and to American Judaism writ large.

For more information and to register for the conference (in person and Zoom), click here
 

3. Book Club Discussion of Rabbi Toba Spitzer's God is Here

Wednesday, August 31st at noon Eastern (11 AM Central, 10 AM Pacific)

Looking ahead, we have an end of the summer book club facilitated by Drs. Jeffrey and Deborah Schein focused on Rabbi Toba Spitzer’s new volume, God is Here.  Rabbi Spitzer will also be joining us for a Tuesday, September 13th evening webinar.

You can sign up for the book club here.
 

A review of the book by Zachary Houle can be found at this link.

You may wish to purchase to book at this link

Enjoy your summer reading! 


Best,

Jeffrey Schein and Eric Caplan




 
Copyright © 2022 The Mordecai Kaplan Center for Jewish Peoplehood, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp