Copy
View this email in your browser
Join us on Sunday, April 24th, at 2:00pm Eastern (1:00pm Central/11:00am Pacific)as Professor Jan Schwarz (Lund University) discusses The Remarkable Renaissance of Yiddish in Sweden.  To register for this webinar, please click here.
 
In 1999, Yiddish was declared an official national minority language in Sweden. Yiddish speakers can now conduct government business in their native language. The Swedish government supports Yiddish-language courses in universities, Yiddish language TV and radio programming, and book publishers in the country are creating media in Yiddish.
 
In this webinar, Prof. Schwarz will provide the background to these surprising developments and give us a taste of the rich Yiddish culture being produced in Sweden today. This is an uplifting story of contemporary European Jewish cultural creativity. As we prepare to commemorate Yom Ha-Shoah later in the week (April 28), it brings a measure of comfort to celebrate the resurgence of European Jewish culture in unexpected places.
 
Jan Schwarz is an Associate Professor of Yiddish Studies at Lund University, Sweden, the only such position in Scandinavia. He is the author of Imagining Lives: Autobiographical Fiction of Yiddish Writers (Wisconsin UP, 2005) and Survivors and Exiles: Yiddish Culture after the Holocaust (Wayne State UP 2015; paperback 2021). Prof. Schwarz’s full cv can be accessed here.
 
To register for this webinar, please click here.

We look forward to seeing you on April 24!

Best,

Jeffrey Schein and Eric Caplan




 
Copyright © 2022 The Mordecai Kaplan Center for Jewish Peoplehood, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp