The Annual Spring Show was held at The Belmont Shooting Complex at 1485 Old Cleveland Road, Belmont on 2nd and 3rd November.

There were close to 100 plants entered in the competition which were judged by two groups of judges guided by chief judge Peter Ball.

Plants were awarded an Award of Merit by scoring 95 to 100 points and got a Purple ribbon. Those scoring 90 to 94 points got a Blue Ribbon, and a Red Ribbon was given to those with 85 to 89 points.
There were 1014 people through the door Saturday, and 350 came Sunday, and John Williamson was Show Convener assisted by many volunteers.
This report was prepared by Maxim Wilson.

Stan Walkley won Champion Bromeliad of Show
with Encholirium horrida and wins
the Olwyn Ferris Trophy.
Champion Bromeliad of Show was Encholirium horrida.
xVrieslandsia 'Supernatural' by Stan Walkley won
The President's Award.
Barry Kable wins The Arnold James Cup for
Reserve Champion Bromeliad of Show for
Aechmea brassicoides.
Aechmea brassicoides was 
Reserve Champion of Show.
Barry Kable with Mal Cameron who won 
Members own Hybrid.and was the
most successful Commercial Exhibitor.
Vriesea 'Fire Rose' won
Best Members Own Hybrid which wins

The Patrons Award named for
Len and Olive Trevor.
Best Bromelioideae on Show was won by Rebekah Trevor.
Neoregelia 'Fruit Stripe' by Rebekah Trevor won
Best Bromelioideae.
Ron Jell Awarded The Rolley Reilly Trophy for
Best Tillandsioideae.
Tillandsia ehlersiana won 
Best Tillandsioideae
which wins The Rolley Reilly Trophy.
Graeme Nolan wins The Ruth Wilson Trophy for
Best Pitcairnioideae.
Best Pitcairnioideae was
Deuterocohnia brevifolia 

This wins The Ruth Wilson Trophy.
Vriesea pardolina won
Best Species Trophy for Barry Kable. 
Best Cryphanthus on Show was won by Barbara McCune.
Cryptanthus 'Thriller' by Barbara McCune
won the Bob Paulsen Trophy for
Best Cryptanthus.
Christine Brittain won the Best Novice Award and was the
Most Successful Non Commercial Exhibitor.
Brom Society of Queensland Display.
Encholirium horrida x Dyckia delicata
won an Award of Merit.
Neoregelia 'Speed Demon' got an
Award of Merit.
Vriesea 'Charles Darwin' won an Award of Merit.
Dyckia 'Betty Farnhill
won an Award of Merit.
Vriesea 'Zebra' won an Award of Merit.
Tillandsia 'Samantha' was awarded a Blue Ribbon'
Stigmatodon 'Harry Luther'
from Bob Hudson created a lot of interest.
Many of us had not seen the genus before, was a Vriesea.
Tillandsia tectorum an old favourite. 
Copyright © 2019 The Bromeliad Society of Queensland Inc, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp