Copy
June-July 2016
View this email in your browser
   

UPCOMING WEBINARS FOR SMALL WATER SYSTEMS | June-July 2016

June 16, 2016
Successful Communication With Your Board

June 22, 2016
Completing an Energy Audit – What You Need to Do Your Own


June 30, 2016
Ask the Expert: Ask Your Asset Management Questions or Seek Advice on How to Begin

July 21, 2016
Keys to Recruiting Qualified Water Utility Staff


Full webinar details below!
WEBINAR
Successful Communication With Your Board
Thursday, June 16, 2016
2-3pm EDT
(1-2pm CDT | 12-1pm MDT | 11am-12pm PDT)

Cost: FREE

Please Note:
Attendees will receive a certificate of attendance for viewing the webinar. This webinar has not been submitted to licensing agencies for preapproval of continuing education credits. If you need assistance in applying for credit to your licensing agency, please contact EducationServices@awwa.org.
Register

Water system managers, directors, supervisors and operators may all have to report to a board of directors, commission or council frequently or on an occasional basis. This can be a nerve-wracking and uncertain experience for many people. This webinar will cover what needs to be covered in discussions with board members, what can (generally) be left out and how to present information and recommendations to ensure a continued safe supply of water for your utility.

Presenter:
Nick Willis, Program Manager, Wichita State University Environmental Finance Center

 

WEBINAR
Completing an Energy Audit – What You Need to Do Your Own
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
1:30-2:30pm EDT
(12:30-1:30pm CDT | 11:30am-12:30pm MDT | 10:30-11:30am PDT)

Cost: FREE
Register

If you are interested in completing your own energy audit, this webinar will provide you with the information you need to be successful. By completing an energy audit you will be able to see what the energy costs are to run each piece of equipment you use at your utility. This information can then be used to help determine if there are potential operational changes, size changes or other changes that could be made that would save the utility operations money that could be better used elsewhere.

Presenter:
Dawn Nall, Southwest Environmental Finance Center

   

WEBINAR
Ask the Expert: Ask Your Asset Management Questions or Seek Advice on How to Begin
Thursday, June 30, 2016
2-3pm EDT
(1-2pm CDT | 12-1pm MDT | 11am-12pm PDT)

Cost: FREE
Register

If you have been to an asset management training or have considered or even started asset management activities, you probably have generated many questions about the process. For example, “Where is a good place to start?” or “What options do I have for mapping my system?” or “How do I number my assets?” You may have specific questions regarding something you’ve tried and had difficulty with. This webinar will provide you with a unique opportunity to ask any and all questions regarding asset management or implementing asset management at your utility.

Presenter:
Heather Himmelberger, Director, Southwest Environmental Finance Center

           

WEBINAR
Keys to Recruiting Qualified Water Utility Staff
Thursday, July 21, 2016
2-3pm EDT
(1-2pm CDT | 12-1pm MDT | 11am-12pm PDT)

Cost: FREE

Please Note:
Attendees will receive a certificate of attendance for viewing the webinar. This webinar has not been submitted to licensing agencies for preapproval of continuing education credits. If you need assistance in applying for credit to your licensing agency, please contact EducationServices@awwa.org.
Register

What are your utility’s most valuable assets? Nope, it’s not your pumps or your lines, it’s your employees. Learn how to find and recruit water utility staff. In this session you will discover the barriers to attracting job applicants and the selling points you can use to find and attract qualified employees.

Presenter:
Tonya Bronleewe, Program Manager, Environmental Finance Center at Wichita State University

           

Who Should Attend:
These webinars are designed for water systems serving 10,000 or fewer people. Owners of privately owned systems, consultants and technical assistance providers serving small water systems are also invited to participate.
Continuing Education Credits:
For questions about whether credit is available for a webinar: AWWA will request pre-approval from the state licensing agencies for webinars unless stated otherwise. AWWA recommends that you check with your licensing agency to learn about its criteria, rules, and what you need to do in order to receive credit for your attendance. It is your responsibility to verify this information with your licensing agency.   

If you require a continuing education certificate:

-Each viewer must register individually
-Group rosters will not be accepted

Webinar Partners:

    

 
Contact:
Laura Flagg
lnflagg@syr.edu
Complimentary Workshops and Webinars:
Workshops and webinars provided through the Smart Management for Small Water Systems program are complimentary under a cooperative agreement with the U.S. EPA.  
About EFCN:
Smart Management for Small Water Systems is a program created by the Environmental Finance Center Network (EFCN), an organization creating innovative solutions to the how-to-pay question of environmental protection and improvement.


Want to learn more on your own time? Click here to view or subscribe to our small systems blog!
Learn more about water finance and management. Blog posts feature lessons learned from our training and technical assistance, descriptions of available tools, and small systems "success stories."
Copyright © 2016 Environmental Finance Center Network
All rights reserved.


Our mailing address is:
727 E. Washington St, Syracuse, NY 13210

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences