View this email in your browser

Nordisk Panorama Film Festival 2016 Winners Announced.

The 27th annual Nordisk Panorama Film Festival Winners were announced during the spectacular Awards Gala tonight at Malmö Town Hall. For five days the Jury Members and the local audience have selected the best new Nordic Documentaries and Short Films – almost 100 films divided into four categories. The winners are:
Best Nordic Documentary

Don Juan [Sweden/Finland]
Director: Jerzy Sladkowski
For its dedication to “pure cinema”, for its honesty and visual beauty a unanimous jury give this award to “Don Juan”. This deeply moving love story was placed on our doorsteps with such a sensitive gaze and care with characters who were compelling and authentic although with rough edges. We all should hope to meet and/or have a Tania in our life. We loved it!

Grit Lemke, DOK Leipzig [Germany], Chris Hastings, World Channel [USA], Camilla Nielsson, Winner of Best Nordic Documentary Award 2015 [Denmark].

About the Award
The Best Nordic Documentary Award is presented by the documentary jury to one of the 14 films in the Nordic Documentary Competition. The award goes to the director(s) of the film.

14 documentaries competed for the Nordic Documentary Award.

Sponsored by
The prize sum is 11,000 € and is sponsored by the Nordic public broadcasters DR, YLE, RUV, NRK and SVT.
Best Nordic Short Film

Forgotten Reason [Sweden]
Director: Peter Larsson
A hypnotic journey into the darkest of forests. Within an atmosphere of ambiguity, the phantasmagoric suggestion of figures, faces and ominous sound, in interaction with the landscape, invokes a space for immersive personal interpretation. An unforgettable nightmare.

Lydia Beilby, Edinburgh International Film Festival [UK], Eva Schweizer, SRF [Switzerland], Einar Baldvin, Winner of the Best Nordic Short Film Award 2015 [Iceland].

About the Award
The Best Nordic Short Film Award is presented by the short film jury to one of the 26 films in the Nordic Short Film Competition. The prize-winning film will qualify for consideration in the Short Film Category of the Annual Academy Awards® without the standard theatrical run, provided that the film otherwise complies with the Academy rules. The award goes to the director(s) of the film.

26 short films competed for the Nordic Short Film Award.

Sponsored by
The prize sum of 7,000 € is sponsored by the Nordic directors’ associations Danish Film Directors, Directors Guild of Finland, Guild of Icelandic Film Directors, Norwegian Film Makers Association and Swedish Film Directors.
Best New Nordic Voice

Front View of my Father [Denmark]
Director: Nicoline Skotte Jacobsen
The award for Best New Nordic Voice goes to a distinct artistic voice which, interestingly, creates a very intimate and tender atmosphere through a staged setting. This methodology adds an honesty to the project, which maybe feels more real than a conventional realistic approach. With a subtle playful seriousity the director approaches a subject of lost and longing for intimacy in a brave and innovative manner. The jury is happy to see a father-daughter relationship in focus, something we seldom see in film. We award a film that draws on performance tradition and process based film, but moves it forward. The winner leaves the jury with tears in our eyes and makes us want to call our fathers – the winner of Best New Nordic Voice is “Front View of My Father”.

Birgitte Weinberger, Odense Film Festival [Denmark], Oscar Eriksson, Folkets Bio [Sweden], Ane Hjort Guttu, New Nordic Voice Special Mention 2015 [Norway].

About the Award
The New Nordic Voices Competition introduces promising Nordic filmmakers. The filmmakers’ works have not previously been screened in the Nordisk Panorama competition programme, and selected films are among the first releases by the filmmaker.

The Best New Nordic Voice Award is presented by the New Nordic Voices jury to one of the 10 films in the New Nordic Voices Competition. The award goes to the director(s) of the film.

10 films competed for the New Nordic Voices Award.

Sponsored by
The prize sum is 3,500 € and is sponsored by regional film centres.
Nordisk Panorama Audience Award: 

Yarn [Iceland, Poland]
Directors: Thordur Jonsson, Heather Millard & Una Lorenzen
The Nordisk Panorama Film Festival 2016 audience by voting

About the Award
To win the prize of the audience of Nordisk Panorama Film Festival is among the finest appreciation a filmmaker can get.

The audience can vote for any of the Nordic short films and documentaries competing in the main competition programme and the new Nordic films in the special programmes using the voting cards handed out after the screenings.

Sponsored by
The NP Audience Award prize sum is 2,500 € and is sponsored by the City of Malmö.

Thank you to all the competing films, jurys and audience.

/ The Nordisk Panorama Team

Award Winners

Festival Trailer

Full programme on web

Download the App

Competing Films

Vognmagergade 10
1120 Copenhagen K, Denmark
Tel: +45 3311 5152

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Nordisk Panorama · Vognmagergade 10 · Copenhagen K 1120 · Denmark