Revive and Grow Strong: McEuen Foundation news for winter 2017
View this email in your browser
McEuen Foundation elects two new board members

We’re delighted to report the election of two new members to the McEuen Scholarship board of directors.
Lucy Webster is the daughter of retiring director Rosemary Webster, who was a dear friend of Mhairi McEuen de Castro and the wife of Ajax scholar the late Ian Webster. Lucy represents the second generation of the Webster family to serve and has been a close friend of the foundation for several years.
Marielle McGovern is the daughter of retiring director Elise Aylen, who is leaving the board but remaining at the helm of the scholarship selection committee. Marielle represents the third generation of the Aylen family to serve on the McEuen board and is the granddaughter of John G. Aylen, the founding president of the board.
The board sincerely thanks Elise Aylen and Rosemary Webster for their significant contributions to governance of the foundation over several decades. They will be missed.
Supporting the McEuen Foundation has never been easier.
Scholarship recipients, their friends and their families can now support the foundation and its scholars by donating online through Canada Helps. On the McEuen Scholarship Foundation website, simply click on the Donate tab in the navigation bar, select the Donate Now button and follow the prompts. Receipts for online donations will be emailed to you in the minutes after your donation has been processed.  Donors can stipulate one-time or monthly contributions.
Donate Now

Thank you to our recent donors
Sandra MacPherson
Randy Zayshley
Gregor Smith
John H. Aylen
The Foundation needs your support
The McEuen Scholarship provides full tuition and accommodation to four scholars in any one year, at a cost of more than $50,000 each a year. To our knowledge, it is the largest single scholarship in the country. At present we need to raise approximately $100,000 a year to ensure our endowment continues into perpetuity and we can continue to change the lives of deserving Canadian students from across the country.
Our scholars graduate debt free with a degree from one of the world’s great universities. We encourage our most recent graduates to make even a nominal donation on graduation and to “pay it forward” as they establish themselves in their chosen careers and have the means to give more!
36 scholarship applications received by January 31 deadline

We’ve received more than 36 applications from students across the country who are applying for three and four-year scholarships to St. Andrews in 2017. They include a previously short-listed applicant and a set of identical twins, among others. Our selection committee will carefully review the applications and will determine a short list of eight applicants who will be interviewed by our three-member panel in April.
2013 McEuen scholar Julia Sawatzky travelling as R&A scholar
McEuen scholar Julia Sawatzky graduated from St. Andrews in March 2016 and was recognized by St. Andrews as one of the highest-achieving students in her class. Prior to that, in October 2015, she was awarded the Principal’s Scholarship for Academic Excellence as one of the top 50 highest achieving graduating students in the entire university. In March 2016 Julia was awarded one of two R&A International Scholarships.
Julia writes: “The scholarship will allow me to explore my interest in and passion for the promotion of global health by traveling to Southeast Asia, India and Africa…. Following this year of meaningful and educational travel, I will commence a medical degree program at the University of Alberta in Edmonton in August 2017.
McGill Chair in Scottish-Canadian Studies is a go
The funding of the McGill University Chair in Scottish-Canadian Studies has reached and slightly surpassed its $3 million goal, thanks in part to initial contributions from the McEuen Scholarship Foundation and the St. Andrews Society. A search committee for the first chair has been constituted and applications are being received from qualified professors across North America and Europe.
“We are convinced the McEuens would be delighted,” McEuen board president John Aylen said. “They founded the Ajax and McEuen scholarships to forge and maintain strong links between Canada and Scotland as well as to reach out to the Scottish diaspora in North America. The chair is intended to do exactly that.”
Lost McEuen scholars

Are you in touch with any of these past winners of the McEuen Scholarship? If so, please pass this on and encourage them to contact us to get on our email list and join our Facebook page.
1978 Robert A. MacLean
1981 Mary C. Hunisett-Stewart
1982 Catherine Joy Archibald
1984 James Maitland Campbell
1986 Brenda Susan Rapley
1987 Margaret Rhiannon Purdy (Purdie)
1990 Sarah Margaret Burchmore
1991 Hannah Cathleen Grant
1992 Suzanne M. Neilson
1993 James Alexander Irvine
Please stay in touch
Got news? Please let us know by contacting the foundation or posting on our Facebook page.
Copyright © 2017 McEuen Scholarship Foundation, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp